Joy

Joy

Drama, Gerry’s, On Stage

A story of family, friendship, freedom and control

  • Mon 23 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Tue 24 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Wed 25 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Thu 26 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Fri 27 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 28 Oct 2:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 28 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Mon 30 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Tue 31 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Wed 1 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Thu 2 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Fri 3 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 4 Nov 2:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 4 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00

“You know what I hate the most? I open my mouth to say something and before I’ve even said anything I can see people ready to say “no”, to shake their heads.  Disability is a shit word, I’m not using it anymore. So, I’ve decided, I am not a pet. I am just me. And I love being me”

London, 2017: Joy is getting older and is ready to go everywhere and do everything, encouraged in this by her new friend Sue. Joy likes art club, romantic films, hanging out with her boyfriend, her part-time job at the pub and getting drunk with her sister. Joy’s Dad just wants to keep her safe. The world’s a dangerous place, after all.

Joy’s working on a project for college, about people like her in London in 1871. In her day-dreams Joy sees two Victorians sisters, who risk everything, travelling across an angry and hostile city, determined to reach safety, freedom and a new home.

Joy is a story of family, friendship, freedom and control.

Running time: 80 minutes
Age guidance: 14+

  • Mon 23 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Tue 24 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Wed 25 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Thu 26 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Fri 27 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 28 Oct 2:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 28 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Mon 30 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Tue 31 Oct 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Wed 1 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Thu 2 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Fri 3 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 4 Nov 2:30 PM £14.00
  • Sat 4 Nov 7:30 PM £14.00

Writer Stephanie Martin

Directed by Melanie Fullbrook

Dramaturgy and Creative Consultant Stephen Unwin

Produced by clamour

you May Also Like...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue